Week 2: Self Understanding ~ (Reflection question #2)

For my Self Understanding Exercise, my personal themes were:

  1. Passionate and Creative,  
  2. Motivated Self Starter
  3. Analytical thinker

This exercise was interesting for me because I had never really thought of the things I am most proud of and would consider an accomplishment. In the past I have struggled a lot with confidence in various aspects of my life and it is something that I continue to struggle with. However I have to say that in the past 2 years or so, I believe I have learned and grown the most than at any other point in my life. At some point I made conscious decision to go after what I want and to make a real effort to be happy with who I am. As a result I have done some things I am very proud of including presenting in front of a large company at a sales meeting, designing a newsletter for the same company, losing 20 lbs etc in the past year alone.

In my past co-op terms I was very inexperienced and was generally always worried about how I was doing, whether I was doing it right or if someone else was doing it better. I was always told that I needed to pick things up and that I wasn’t performing to the best of my abilities. With my last work term however I was reassured that I had contributed to the organization in a valuable way and that they were happy to have me. I was always worried about what other people thought but this feedback really changed things for me as it made me realize what I had to offer. I always knew that I had a passion for creativity, but I am surprised at how much I have developed my analytical abilities over my University career since I never thought of myself as a numbers person. I am also surprised at the level of motivation I have to achieve something. I have always assumed that I was someone who didn’t try hard enough and preferred to stay in the background. However I have come to realize that I’m not that person anymore. I have changed quite a bit and will continue to change, and I hope that all the effort will pay off in the end! 🙂

Leave a Reply

